Introducing the
Roundup Ready® Xtend
Crop System

THE ROUNDUP READY® XTEND CROP SYSTEM IS AN ADVANCED WEED CONTROL TOOL THAT, ONCE APPROVED, WILL HELP GROWERS MANAGE DIFFICULT-TO-CONTROL WEEDS IN THEIR COTTON CROP.

 

The system combines Bayer’s leading trait technology with over-the-top tolerance to three unique herbicide modes-of-action.

 

The combination of the best traits and chemistry products will give Australian cotton farmers added choice and flexibility in their overall weed management system.

The system will include three key products:

1. XtendFlex® cotton the first cotton product developed to be tolerant to over-the-top application of glyphosate, dicamba and glufosinate-ammonium herbicides. It will be stacked with Bollgard® 3 technology in leading cotton varieties.

2. XtendiMax® with VapourGrip® Technology* is a low volatility dicamba herbicide. 

3. Roundup Xtend® with VapourGrip® Technology* is a low volatility dicamba and glyphosate pre-mixed herbicide. Dicamba and glyphosate have different modes of action, which means better control of weeds that may be difficult to control with glyphosate alone.

*Applications have been made for registration of XtendiMax 2 with VapourGrip Technology and Roundup Xtend 2 with VapourGrip Technology.  At the time of publication these products are not registered. Growers must not use products unless APVMA approval is in place.

Why do we need the Roundup Ready xtend crop
system in australia?

The key to integrated weed management is diversity

A key component of any integrated weed management system is using a variety of tools to manage weeds. This is particularly important as weeds become more difficult to control and herbicide resistance becomes more prevalent. 

The Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System will allow growers to use different herbicides over-the-top of their cotton, increasing diversity of their system and helping to manage difficult to control and resistant weeds in-crop.

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System Spray Applicator Training Sessions

As part of Bayer's commitment to stewardship, the spray applicator training will be a requirement for:

  • Technology User Agreement (TUA) signers;
  • All on-farm staff responsible for spray applications (including mixing/handling); and
  • Any spray contractor that applies Roundup Xtend® with VapourGrip® Technology or XtendiMax® with VapourGrip® Technology products over-the-top (OTT) of XtendFlex® cotton varieties, once approved by the APVMA.

Each training session covers theory and practical topics. 

Registration is essential. Lunch and refreshments will be provided.

 

Launch timelines

Launching a new system relies on input, feedback and collaboration from the entire cotton industry. Growers, TSPs, agronomists, researchers and consultants all have valuable knowledge on how the Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System will fit in the unique, Australian environment. As with current traits, stewardship of the Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System is critical to its success. Bayer is working with several groups right across the cotton industry to develop the best training, education and stewardship packages for the Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System. 

Prior to launching a biotechnology product in Australia, several key regulatory approvals are required. XtendFlex cotton has now received two of these approvals, from the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (OGTR) and Food Standards Australia and New Zealand (FSANZ). In 2018, Bayer submitted applications to the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority (APVMA) seeking registration of the chemistry products that form part of the system. XtendFlex cotton also requires approvals in key countries that may import Australian cotton products.

 

Upcoming training sessions are listed in the table below. 

 

Date Location
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 Narrabri, NSW
Thursday, March 25, 2021 Moree, NSW
Friday, March 26, 2021 Goondiwindi, QLD
Monday, March 29, 2021 Emerald, QLD
Thursday, April 1, 2021 St George, QLD
Thursday, May 27, 2021 Dubbo, NSW
Monday, May 31, 2021 Emerald, QLD
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Dalby, QLD
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Dalby, QLD
Friday, June 4, 2021 Dalby, QLD
Monday, June 7, 2021 Goondiwindi, QLD
Tuesday, June 8, 2021 St George, QLD
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Mungindi, NSW
Thursday, June 10, 2021 Narrabri, NSW
Wednesday, June 16, 2021 Griffith, NSW
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Deniliquin, NSW
Monday, June 28, 2021 Dubbo, NSW
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 Trangie, NSW
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Gunnedah, NSW
Friday, July 2, 2021 Moree, NSW
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 Gunnedah, NSW
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 Gunnedah, NSW
Thursday, September 9, 2021 Mungindi, NSW
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 Deniliquin, NSW
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 Darlington Point, NSW
Thursday, September 16, 2021 Griffith, NSW
Tuesday, September 21, 2021  Moree, NSW
Wednesday, September 22, 2021  Narrabri, NSW
Thursday, September 23, 2021

 Gunnedah, NSW

 

 

Ongoing research

The Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System, once approved, will provide growers with a valuable tool to manage difficult-to-control weeds. It is a simple system; however, a significant amount of work is required prior to launch. All relevant regulatory approvals and stewardship package requirements will enable most effective utilisation of this technology. Monsanto will continue to work with partner organisations and industry over coming years to ensure product success.

Further announcements on trials and demonstrations will be available in time.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Please contact your Territory Business Manager for further information on the Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System.